Forever alone doesn’t seem so bad..

I’m 31. I’ve been a single parent for over 6 & a half years. I’ve not been totally single that whole time though, I have had a couple of boyfriends & had a few dates here & there. I just haven’t seemed to have been able to find the right guy!

I’ve actually given up now, given up with the whole dating & trying to find a man.
Now, by given up I don’t mean “nobody will ever love me, nobody will want me blah blah blah” …what I mean by given up is that I just can’t be bothered with men anymore! Dating is such bloody hard work, men are such bloody hard work (Plus trying to get a babysitter is bloody hard work too).

I’ve now actually come to a point where I don’t need or want a man in my life. When I was newly a single mum all I wanted was to find a nice man to settle down with, I had such a longing for a “proper” family etc. I needed a man & I wanted one too.
As time went on & I’d had a couple of boyfriends & some dates I had become a much more independent person & realised I didn’t need a man in my life, I just wanted one in my life.
Recently things have changed even more, I realise now that I don’t need a man in my life and I don’t even want one in my life either!
I have my own life, job, my daughter & life is ok. There’s not as much stress in my life now that I’m not looking for a boyfriend/dating. Men take up too much time and energy and to be honest I have better things to spend that time and energy on!
I do wonder though that in the future my feelings will change again, will I ever want to share my life with a man?! Or will I be happily single for the rest of my life… I guess only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

